• Criminal Proceedings
  • DMV License Suspension Hearings

We are proud to have one of the best records on license restoration hearings of any law firm in the state of Connecticut.

Getting arrested for Driving Under the Influence (or Boating Under the Influence) can have a major impact on your life. You face a suspended license, a criminal record, and potential jail time, if convicted… not to mention all of the stress that comes along with these penalties. Having an experienced attorney who has a reputation for successfully defending clients in these proceedings is essential if you wish to avoid these life-changing results!

In order to avoid a license suspension in the state of Connecticut, you must request a hearing within only a few weeks from the time of your arrest. Therefore, you should speak with an attorney who is very familiar with the system and these proceedings AS SOON AS POSSIBLE if you wish to fight the license suspension.

We will begin by examining the circumstances of the arrest, the behavior and actions of the police officer(s), and what was said or done by all parties involved. Based on this information, we can provide you with what to expect in the following proceedings. Our job is to resolve these proceedings as quickly and as favorably to you as the system will allow, so that you can move on with your life. Call now for a free consultation, where an experienced attorney will provide you with the guidance that you need to put this in the past.

Client Reviews

“My name is Joseph E. and about a year ago I got into some trouble. What happened is that I’d had too much to drink and I got a DUI.

Read More
Case Studies
20 Year Old’s DUI Charges Dismissed with No Loss of License (2012)

Our client, a 20 year old UCONN student, was pulled over for failure to come to a complete stop at a stop sign. He was subsequently charged with:

Read More
DUI First Offense

If you have no prior record of arrest for DWI, (anywhere), then you are eligible in Connecticut for what is known as the Alcohol Education Program, (AEP). Generally, that program is going to cost you either $550 or $700 at the Courthouse. As long as there is no accident involved, and no one has been injured, you can go to court on your own, and the Prosecutor will point you in the right direction. You will EVENTUALLY be granted the AEP, and you can earn a dismissal of the charge by attending classes, going to a MADD Victim Impact Panel and staying out of any further trouble for a year. This does NOT however address the issue of your loss of license at the Department of Motor Vehicles, or the issues involved in obtaining a work/education permit. An experienced attorney will be able to not only get you through your appearances at the Courthouse in a much timely fashion,but will also be able to conduct a hearing at the DMV where you MAY be able to save your driving privileges, and avoid having an alcohol related suspension go against your license. Procedurally, you are NOT going to be able to handle the DMV hearing on your own. Most practicing lawyers don’t know what to look for in the police reports, and what evidence the various hearing officers will be willing to consider in arguing for a license restoration. At Soulsby & Levin, we handle as many as fifty hearings a year before the Per Se Unit at the DMV. While there are never any guaranties, we have one of the best records on license restoration of any firm in Connecticut. Defense lawyers in today’s economy will charge anywhere between $500 and $2,500 to take on a first-time DWI. To know whether you are spending your money wisely, ask your attorney about his or her experience before the Per Se Unit, and what their track record on license restoration has been. At Soulsby & Levin, we generally charge $1,500 for this work. This fee can change depending on the circumstances of your particular arrest, (accident, roadblock, etc.), but that is our standard fee for a true first offense.

Do You Have Any Question?

Contact us or call us anytime!

Contact Us